Help me help my students see the light: A call for social media examples

I’m happy to announce that I made it to midterms unscathed, for the most part. I’m even more happy to announce that the day I’ve been looking forward to this semester has finally arrived. This week, I will be giving my COMM 107  students a crash course in social media. I’m certain that 99.9 percent of them are on Facebook but, if they are going to enter a world that will have changed dramatically in the four years that they will be in college, they must see that the light is a lot brighter than that.My plan is to define social / digital media and to position the phenomenon in terms of the bigger picture — namely, how it has changed media, advertising, marketing, public relations, politics, news, education, interpersonal communication, business…Then, I want to show them just how and where the change is taking place. Here is where I would love to get your help. Below is a list of social media categories I created using the Conversation Prism and my own brain. I could go online and fish out specific examples of each to show my students but instead, I wondered if you have or know someone who has a great Flickr profile, YouTube channel, DocStoc archive, etc., etc. that I could share with my students. If so, let me know in the comments or feel free to send me a tweet (@andinarvaez) with the category and a link.Thank you in advance! And please, feel free to share!

  • Picture-sharing
  • Livecasting
  • Wikis
  • Audio / Music sharing
  • Events
  • Documents / Content
  • Customer service
  • Video-sharing
  • Location
  • Reviews / Ratings
  • Social networks
  • Forums
  • SMS / VoIP
  • Lifestreams
  • Weblog
  • Video blog
  • Collaboration / Crowdsourced content
  • Comments
  • Social bookmarks
  • Social blogs / Microblogs
  • Social News
  • Online communities
  • Virtual Worlds
  • Game-sharing
  • Information aggregators
  • Email
  • Instant messaging
Leave a Reply

