#CitizenGulf : This time, it’s personal

Over the past few weeks I’ve had the pleasure of helping bring #CitizenGulf to DC. A few days after the project was announced, original CitizenGulf project member and DC’s very own tech leader, public speaking coach, and rockstar — Jill Foster – gave Social Media Club-DC a heads up and there was no way I was going to turn down the opportunity to get involved.CitizenGulf is Citizen Effect’s project which aims to help fishing families in the Gulf Coast affected by the oil spill to find a new, more sustainable future by providing education resources for their children.This post is not to urge you to attend your local event, or to donate, or submit your vote for the Pepsi Refresh idea benefiting this cause (See what I just did there?) This post is about all the positive things I have experienced, courtesy of all of those who have joined the cause in any way, shape or form.

If you follow me on Twitter, it’s obvious I’ve been a one-track mind these weeks. In fact, a friend jokingly said he didn’t think I was tweeting about #CitizenGulf enough… The fact is that from the minute we started to pull all possible resources together, I have not stopped feeling overwhelmingly grateful for everyone who has stepped up to the plate to show their support at the local and national level. To date, I have never experienced collaboration at this level.This post is to give everyone thanks.

Last but not least – thank you, ALL of you for reading this, supporting #CitizenGulf, sharing, retweeting, and not unfollowing me (though we’re still totally cool if you have) even though I have been such a broken record. I’ll be honest and say that 12 percent of why I wrote this was to share and try to explain why I haven’t been able to shut up about it.

I think I’m all set for the next 17 Thanksgivings 🙂

Leave a Reply

