Business And Pleasure

It has been QUITE some time since my last post. Long story short:

  • I earned my master’s degree
  • I backpacked around South America (read about some of those adventures here)
  • I moved from Washington, D.C. to Austin, Texas
  • I started a new job
  • I finally finished furnishing my new aparment
  • I have reunited with old friends and made new friends
  • Work, work, work

It’s been a little more than eight months since I started working at my agency and I can’t say enough about how much I’ve been exercising my public relations and social media muscles in this relatively short period of time. I have had the opportunity to work on a number of projects ranging from traditional public relations, to digital communications, and all that is in between that ties those two approaches together. I’m learning a lot. And quickly.

I do regret that I have had no extra time to dedicate to my personal social media projects. Until a few days ago, I was doing nothing about the fact that my personal social media activity had slowed significantly. I didn’t want to feel exhausted by turning my life into a 24/7 social media frenzy, and I didn’t want to exhaust others who prefer to limit their personal use of every social network that isn’t Facebook.

But two days ago, I jotted down what must have been my 37th idea for a blog post and realized that my attempts to leave social media at the office were futile and made no sense. The fact that social media is a personal hobby of mine is the first reason I chose to study and later work in my field.

I’m excited to get back to mixing business with pleasure. Last night I imported my WordPress blog to Posterous (a “one platform to rule them all” sort of decision).

I’m back!

Leave a Reply

